make a donation

Long-time Ottawan to be honoured with prestigious national conservation award

The Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society (CPAWS) is pleased to be honouring Nikita (Nik) Lopoukhine with its J.B. Harkin Conservation Award for his lifetime contribution to protecting Canada’s parks and wilderness  at a  reception on February 1, 2012 at 7 PM at the Canadian Museum of Nature, Ottawa.

Named after J.B. Harkin, the founder of Canada’s national parks system, the J.B. Harkin Conservation Award honours individuals who have demonstrated a significant contribution throughout their lifetime to the conservation of Canada’s parks and wilderness. Previous winners have included prime ministers, senior politicians and government officials.

This year’s award recipient, Nik Lopoukhine, is recognized for his lifetime of commitment to promoting scientific discussion and ecological integrity within Parks Canada and for championing Canadian conservation and park values globally.

Mr. Lopoukhine’s accomplishments are woven into the history of our parks.  He set the foundation for Parks Canada’s fire management program. During his tenure as Director General of National Parks for Parks Canada, he was responsible for developing and implementing important components within Canada’s New National Parks Act, the Species at Risk Act and the National Marine Conservation Act.  He continues to be active internationally as the elected Chair of the IUCN’s World Commission on Protected Areas.

“We are excited to honour such an amazing Canadian with this award. After years of working behind the scenes to preserve the ecological integrity of our parks and to better our policies to preserve our protected areas, we believe Nik perfectly embodies the essence of this award,” says CPAWS Executive Director Éric Hébert-Daly.

“To be numbered alongside the previous recipients of the J.B. Harkin Award, all conservation leaders, is indeed humbling. I am thrilled to have my conviction of the importance to society of parks and other forms of protection recognized by the granting of this prestigious award," says Mr.  Lopoukhine.

The Harkin Award Reception will also feature a cocktail hour, silent auction and  guest presentation by members of the Trans CanEAUda team, a group of Ottawa based youth who paddled over 7000km across Canada last summer to raise awareness for watershed conservation. 

Tickets may be purchased for the Harkin Award Reception at or by calling 613-569-7226 ext.232. Individual tickets are $25 each or $15 for students. Reception begins at 7PM EST. For more details visit


Contact: Holly Postlethwaite, National Public Relations Coordinator- or 613-569-7226 ext.232.