make a donation

Call for nominations for the J.B. Harkin Conservation Award 2013

  • Published on Apr 18 2013 |
  • This article is tagged as: harkin

Who do you think deserves national recognition for their contribution to the conservation of Canada’s parks and wilderness? Let us know!

The J. B. Harkin Award for Conservation

The J.B. Harkin Medal is Canada's most prestigious conservation award. Since 1972, the award has been presented by CPAWS to living individuals who:

  • Have made a significant life-long contribution through words and deeds to the conservation of Canada's parks and wilderness;
  • Or have made a special one-time contribution to national conservation;
  • And have not been otherwise recognized.

The award is named for James Bernard Harkin, Canada's 1st Commissioner of National Parks. Learn more about the J.B. Harkin Medal and see a list of previous participants.

2013 - CPAWS’ 50th Anniversary

Since 2013 is a special year, the J. B. Harkin award this year will focus on life-long conservation efforts, nationally or regionally, in long-term association with CPAWS. Association with CPAWS is intentionally broad in interpretation, including financial, staff or volunteer links.

How to Submit a Nomination

If you know of an individual whom you believe deserves this award, write a 150 word summary sufficient to demonstrate how he or she meets the criteria for national recognition. It will be used as the basis for selection of the recipient. Send your nomination, in confidence, to the J.B. Harkin Conservation Award Committee at The deadline for nominations is April 30th, 2013. Individuals who have been nominated previously are kept in our records for several years, so nominations made in recent years do not have to be repeated.