make a donation

CPAWS presents 2008 Harkin award to Bob Peart

  • Published on May 09 2008 |
  • This article is tagged as:

The Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society is pleased to confer the J. B Harkin Medal for Conservation on Bob Peart for his lifetime of extraordinary commitment to parks, nature conservation and environmental education in Canada.

Over four decades Bob has worked tirelessly to advance the cause of parks in Canada. He has been deeply involved in the creation of many parks including Grasslands National Park, Tatshenshini-Alsek Provincial Park World Heritage Site, Khutzeymateen Grizzly Bear Sanctuary and Churn Creek Protected Area. As a ministerial chief of staff, he participated in the creation and implementation of British Columbia’s Protected Area strategy that resulted in that province’s protected area system being more than doubled in size.   

He has been deeply engaged in innovative work with First Nations nature and cultural conservation including the Kitlope Heritage Conservancy, the Clayoquot Interim Measures Agreement, the Stein Valley Heritage Park, and the commemoration of the Tsilhqot’in Chiefs’ Burial Site.

As a professional consultant he has worked on Burns Bog Regional Park, the Muskwa –Kechika Management Area and served as executive director of the Outdoor Recreation Council of British Columbia. His interpretation work has included serving as a Parks Canada naturalist, assistant director of the Royal British Columbia Museum, and director of the Canadian Wildlife Service’s Grasslands Interpretive Centre. He now plays a leadership role in the nature-child reunion initiative in British Columbia.

Bob has been a champion of civil society efforts to protect nature and promote nature education including serving as a founding board member of Interpretation Canada, Grasslands Conservation Council of BC, The Land Conservancy, Yellowstone to Yukon Conservation Initiative, Elder’s Council for BC Parks and the Kesho Trust.

For over thirty years he has been a stalwart member of the Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society that has included service as national president, national board member, board member of the Saskatchewan and British Columbia chapters, executive director of the British Columbia chapter, trustee emeritus, and his legacy continues as he campaigns for the creation of South Okanagan National Park and the expansion of Waterton-Glacier International Peace Park into the Flathead Valley.